Category: Previews

Everything we know about the Demon Hunter class

As you know already, yesterday Blizzard announced the next expansion, the World of Warcraft: Legion.

One of the main features of it, and a long requested one, is the new Hero class, the Demon Hunter. In this article I’ll collected everything we know so far about this new class. All the details came from the Gamescom presentation, official website and from the Icy Veins interview. By the end of this weekend more details should be available and I’ll try to update this article as fast as possible.

I begun with the details about the new class, because at the presentation, the public was, in my opinion, the most impressed by it compared to the other features. Keep in mind that I’ll try to synthesize as much as possible to avoid the wall of texts that most of you do not like.

General details about Demon Hunters

  • It is a Hero class, like Death Knights, and that means you wont start at level 1. Is still unsure if we’ll start at level 95 or 100.
  • When you start playing a Demon Hunter you’ll learn about their kin, the Illidari, and will learn your skills step by step. Similar to Death Knights.
  • The class will use one new weapon type – the Glaives. They will come in pairs, using both slots.
  • As for the armor, the demon hunters can only use cloth and leather.
  • This class will only have two specs: Havoc (as melee DPS) and Vengeance (for tanking).
  • The only race that can become a Demon Hunter is the elves (it fits the lore perfectly). Of course, Night and Blood Elves so both Alliance and Horde can use them.
  • Update It is possible to see more races as Demon Hunters in future expansions, but not in Legion.
  • The customization will include horns, tattoos, eyes wear, and scars. The armor will keep your muscles and tattoos visible more or less.
  • Update The tattoos are for demon hunters only.
  • Update A new character slot will be added as well, so everyone who has their 11 slots filled can play a Demon Hunter in Legion expansion.
  • Playing Casino Online at the best online slots gaming center.
  • It’s still unknown if you need to met some requirements to be able to start playing a Demon Hunter.

Abilities and skills

You’ll generate and use demonic fury for your abilities. For the moment it doesn’t seems to be any other consumable resource.

  • Metamorphosis is your demonic form. This will increase your power, but I’m sure it will come as a price or as a cooldown.
  • Spectral Sight allows you to see through walls (cheater!).
  • Unrivaled Mobility gives you double jump (mario style). Will be interesting to see what this skill can be used for.
  • See the below image for more abilities preview.

 A bit of Lore

Demon hunters, disciples of Illidan Stormrage, uphold a dark legacy, one that frightens their allies and enemies like. The Illidari embrace fel and chaotic magics—energies that have long threatened the world of Azeroth—believing them necessary to challenge the Burning Legion. Wielding the powers of demons they’ve slain, they develop demonic features that incite revulsion and dread in fellow elves.

Demon hunters ritually blind themselves in exchange for spectral sight that enables them to better sense their prey. This enhanced awareness, together with their great agility and magical prowess, makes demon hunters unpredictable adversaries. An Illidari’s quarry has much to fear.


This is the second Hero Class introduced to the game and, like I said before, it was a long awaited class. During these years Demon Hunter was the most requsted class and finally is here.

Even if all the information above came from and official source, I’m pretty sure we’ll see a lot of changes and ther is still a lot we don;t know about this new class. Even so, especially for a warlock player like me, this class looks pretty awesome so far.

Legion Map Improvements and World Quests

The endgame in Legion will be a bit different and if you are playing Diablo 3 these additions will seem pretty familiar to you.

From now on you won’t have to go to a specific hub to get your daily quests. You just open your map and see what’s available for you.  All the map changes are going to be available and visible when you hit level 110. Even with these changes, things will still become repetitive, but at least, after all these years, is something different when it comes to your daily routine. When I first hit level 110 and I saw the map I considered everything to be really overwhelming, but everything seems cool, at least at the beginning.

The reset time on these world quests varies. The Raid World Bosses reset weekly, most of them reset daily, but some of them reset after a few hours. I still don’t know the exact pattern and I guess we should’t worry about this yet.

The rewards are somehow random and you can get honor, gold, crafting materials, Class Hall resources, Artifact Power, class specific items, reputation, followers items, and battle stones. Maybe we’ll get more items. Maybe we’ll see some pets or mounts (why not?) in the future or when Legion goes live.

These are the new map symbols that were added to the game. Well, I know some of them are not really new, but I guess we can mention them here.

  • Crossed Swords – This is a world PvP objective
    • Are not required to complete the Emissary quests. You can completely avoid them if you aren’t interested.
  • Profession symbols – this quest is soloable but you need to use your profession(s)
  • Paw mark – this quest involves pet battles
  • Normal “!” mark – is a normal soloable quest
  • Normal “!” mark with a dragon border – a normal quest that requires a 2-3 people to complete
  • Blue “!” mark with a dragon border – rare elite mob that requires a group
  • Purple “!” mark with a dragon border – a world boss; raid needed
  • Blue skull mark with dragon border – dungeon quest; group needed
  • Class mark – marks the portal to your Class Hall
  • Blue/Green swirls – mark a dungeon/raid entrance

I intentionally avoided the flight master symbols, normal quests and normal completed quests, repeatable quests and so on. Those are really old and I guess all the players are used to them by now.

The Emissary Quests

Every day the Legion factions will ask you to complete a few quests for them. Those quests are specific to the area where that faction members reside.

You’ll have to complete 4 quests to complete an emissary request and if you have a battle pet team and all the professions you’ll have around 6-8 options available from which you have to complete only 4. The PvP quests are not included in the emissary selection, at least that’s how it was in Alpha.

Each Emissary quest will be available for three days. If you forgot to log in yesterday, that emissary quest will be available for two more days, and you’ll also have a new one. You can have up to three Emissary quests active at once.

The rewards for completing the Emissary Quests are reputation (obviously) and a box of loot. These boxes currently contain only Artifact power and Order Hall resources at the moment.

There are still a lot of things to be added to the game. Keep in mind that this article is based on Alpha/Beta content.

What do you think about these changes? Do you like the old quest hubs and quests more?